Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Reforestation in Second Life: An Oxymoron?

Not exactly.

For the price of 300 lindens (roughly equivalent to US $1) one can purchase and plant one of 10 species of trees on Second Chance Trees island and it will trigger Plant-It 2020, a non-profit organization founded by the late singer John Denver, to plant the same species of tree in the endangered rainforest to which it is indigenous.

So, after a bit of a hiatus, we will have a meetup of “Second Thursday in Second Life” THIS Thursday on Second Chance Trees Island to discuss how this is working out for the non-profit Plant-It 2020. (BTW, I do realize it is the third Thursday, but our speakers were busy last week). We plan to meet right after the weekly Coffee with Crayon, so grab your coffee then head on over to Second Trees Island (see SLURL below).

Rob Key, CEO of Conversion, will present on “karmiccommunication', environmentalism in Second Life and Converseon's approach to engaging with virtual world communities.

If you wonder what “karmicommunication” is, you aren’t alone, but you will have to show up to find out.

A hint: Conversion has partnered with non-profit Plan It 2020, a foundation dedicated to properly planting, maintaining and protecting as many indigenous trees as possible worldwide.


Date: Thursday May 17, 2007
Place: Second Chance Trees Island (SLURL)
Time: 6:30 a.m. Pacific (SL Time) | 7:30 Mountain a.m. | 8:30 Central a.m. | 9:30 a.m. Eastern (convert to other timezones)

For more information on the project, you can read the media release, visit the Second Chance Trees website and look at some pictures on their Flickr site.

It should be an interesting look into how a non-profit is using Second Life to deliver its core message and get real support in a virtual world. We will have a virtual tree planting, so be there!

No comments: